Uncategorized

Sofilantjes Down Under Blog Tour

Hooray it’s day 3 of Sofilantjes Down Under Blog tour  and today is my turn… just in case you didn’t know why we refer to ourselves downunder … well ‘X’ marks the spot, where us Aussies are located … yep all the way down in the southern hemisphere and the smaller ‘X’ marks the spot of our Kiwi friends whom we like to banter with.

down-under-graphic

So to help celebrate the big travel from north (Netherlands to be exact) to south, and the welcoming of our warmer weather here (yipppeee we love our spring/summer) I’m super excited to showcase some of the wonderful summer patterns I’ve previously made using Sofilantjes patterns (affliliate link) as a pattern tester for Anne from Sofilantjes.

I simply adore her patterns, they are are easy to follow with clear instructions and illustrations (to help visuals like me). So far, I’ve only sewn Anne’s knit patterns and this is probably why I started hoarding knits.

back view 1.jpg
Litore dress with a handkerchief skirt
back view 2.jpg
Solis dress with side pockets and the pleated skirt option

Everything I’ve made to date, I love (and so does the kids off course lol) … the fit is perfect and comfortable and the range of sizes (12M to 14y) and unisex styles allows for lots of flexibility. What’s even better is that you can even mix and match some of the pattern pieces together.

short-sleeve-front-view
Semper sweater in short sleeve
short-sleeve-side-view
Semper sweater as a summer top with side pockets

However for the tour, I decided to try one of Anne’s woven pattern the Brueram dress & top and see how it compares to her knit patterns and I was not not disappointed. I love the square neckline (with rounded corners … and no, I could not find the ‘technical’ name for it)

and the shirred back (or you can make it with rows of 0.6cm elastics) makes this a very comfortable and long lasting dress. Plus the V strap back adds a nice touch of style too.

back-view

Little miss originally wanted a maxi version of this dress, but I managed to talk her into a knee length version (Whooo whoop… 1 win for mummy) since I wanted to showcase the lovely high-low hem with front wrapped skirt.

Overall, I’m very please with how the dress turned out, the fit is great and know she will make use of it this season.


I hope I’ve help kicked start your sewing mojo to try out some of these pattern … but wait there’s more (haha… I sound like those television shopping channels) … there is a 15% off discount code during the tour for all of the summer patterns with the code DOWNUNDER.  The code expires on  October 16th & is valid on summer patterns ONLY. Here’s the link to the store (affliliate link) so hopefully that’s an added bonus 😛

In addition, every day each of our Aussie/NZ bloggers (here is the stunning line up) will offer a pattern giveaway so make sure you visit them for more chances to win.

Monday Idle sunshine

Tuesday Horris And Deedle

Wednesday Bartacks and Singletrack

Thursday Tea, Dust and Stitches, Brave Fabrics

Friday While she was sleeping, Mend and Make New

Lastly,  don’t forget to enter today’s Rafflecopter giveaway for your chance to the Brueram pattern.

Happy sewing and till next time … Have a g’day (mate) lol !!

16 thoughts on “Sofilantjes Down Under Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

