Uncategorized

Love for the LOVERALLS

OMG .. I’ve been on the lookout for a trendy pair of overall or dungaree (depending on where in the world you reside in) for a few months now so when Celina from Petit a Petit showed a sneaky of it, I was obsessed and kept stalking her for a tester call and finally it came HOORAY!!!

kai-and-sophia-3

For the testing, I made a size 10 for my lil man though I should have checked his measurement against the measurement chart because I probably should have made a size 9 for a slightly more fitted look… never mind, at least he will get extra wear out of this loverall.

front-view-overall

I love the fact that it is a slim fitted style, yet still very comfortable to wear (so I’m told by the little one) and wow, Celina did not spare on the details for this pattern. There are 3 main options for the loverall:

  • Option A offers a mid-rise curved bib with the tapered leg
  • Option B has a sweet and flirty heart pocket on the front bib
  • Option C has a wide, curved waistband with a zip fly.

Then there is the back view – which comes with plenty of optional features such as pocket flaps, patch pockets, carpenter pockets and hammer loop.

Since I was testing this pattern, I might as well test all the optional features for the back view … who wouldn’t right? LOL and I’m so glad I did … I just love the whole look of it.

full-back-viewhammer-pockethammer-strap

However, I found my denim looked too clean cut after it was all made up. It seems to lack a bit of an edge so I decided to sandpaper down the front and back legs of the loverall. Which you can see here … to give it a more worn look and oomph!!!

work-in-progress

Luckily  I remembered to take a picture of the ‘before’ look so you can see the difference between the two before I finished sandpapering the pants. I was very pleased with how it turned out, it just gave my loverall a bit more character. I was also going to add rivets to the pockets but my tool to put the rivet in hasn’t arrived yet 😦

front-overall

kai-and-sophia-2

Now this loverall was definately a labour of love but it’s so worth it!

I would highly recommend any of Celina’s pattern. Her patterns are professionally drafted with detailed instructions and is thoroughly tested. The loverall is currently available ay 25% off until Thursday  (3/11) through Upcraft Club so make sure you take advantage of it. After that it will be available at Petit a Petit pattern shop.

Have fun sewing!!!

15 thoughts on “Love for the LOVERALLS

  1. These is so well made Thao, you really have done a fantastic job on showing us just how detailed this pattern is. Cindy rang me this morning and said “hey, did you see what Thao has done with those overalls? We so need them for Leo!” Love everything about them, great job 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

